the pre-teen kid just turned 7 about a month ago. I up-ed the challenge of making a cake for him after feeling proud of making the 1 year-old birthday cake for the bun.

my humble oven is very tiny, I can’t make 1 large cake to feed about 30 people. so the only way is to make multi-tiered cake. so I attempted a rainbow cake because it looks so cheery & fun. I used up about 40 eggs in all, threw away quite a number layers of cake (I know! heartache!!), and after more than 10hrs,  I made this:
cake

not a full 7-colored true-blue rainbow cake, just 5-tier, but it was quite a feat to accomplish for me! I had wanted to go with a jungle/safari themed cake (the kid is SO into animals at the moment), but by the time I put the cake together and clothed it with fondant, I was numbed with exhaustion at an unearthly hour. I could only managed a bright cheery sun and some grass, hurhur. after catching a few hours of sleep, I did the wordings, and tried playing around with my remaining fondant to make animals, but couldn’t make up any..then I wanted to make animals origami but looked so complicated & time-consuming, I gave up. I decided that a cake is just a cake, so just chilled before tha party. I couldn’t take any pics of the cake after its cut because I was busy partying around and not one of whom will take tonnes of pics of the cake itself. (live in the moment, peeps, for the real thing.) impressive and wonderful rainbow cake, so I was told. but too sweet and orthodox for my style, with icing, frosting, and layers. I think i’ll switch back to my unorthodox style of baking/creating, like the true fruit cake.

the kid was beaming, more for the company than the cake, though. (don’t ask me about his tucker-inner high-pants look, i’m not the one dictating, though I’ve tried to be the influencer to no avail ;()

song

special guest appearance
baymax

photographer trying to get the ‘perfect’ family photo?? (we corded off the area with red & white tape gee ;P)
family photo

it was planned as a walk-a-jog birthday party with family & close friends. the day started promising. then dark clouds loomed. then rain came beating down like there was no tomorrow. the party huddled together in the sheltered area, getting cold & wet. just as spirits were getting pretty dampened, impromptu games happened: limbo rock with the tape, zero point, sit-down games like ‘pass the message’, hand games, etc, hopscotch tried, etc..then the downpour stopped, kids & adults dashed wild.

run

we had a jolly great time, it couldn’t have been betterer, rain & all.

 

 

